About Us

    The Willing Workers of Oxon Hill, Inc. was organized by the late Charles E. Stephens in
    1976 as a task force to renovate the nursery of St. Paul United Methodist Church (SPUM).  
    The mission of the organization was soon amended to encompass a broader vision to
    provide and support programs and activities that contribute to the spiritual, emotional,
    social, and educational well-being of youth in Prince George's County.  

    The first fundraising event, a small but very successful fashion show, was held in 1977.
    Fashions were provided by Lu Carol from a boutique owned by Jean Stephens, wife of
    Charles E. Stephens.  This was the beginning of the organization's keystone public
    outreach event, The Willing Workers of Oxon Hill, Inc. Annual Fashion Show and
    Scholarship Awards Presentation Luncheon.

    Since 1981, the Willing Workers of Oxon Hill, Inc. has awarded more than $150,000 in
    scholarships and grants to graduating seniors from Prince George’s County schools.
    Scholarships totalling $10,500 were presented in 2008, with the prestigious Charles E.
    Stephens Memorial Scholarship awarded to Riva-Niger Smith of Oxon Hill High School.

    In 1999 a college book grant program was launched which has assisted more than 60
    students with books and schools supplies. In 2007 the Willing Workers’ Community
    Scholarship was renamed in honor of the late Jacob B. Terrell, Jr., president 2005-2007,
    whose vision and tireless dedication to community outreach was instrumental in the
    creation and support of this program.

    The organization has also contributed to summer camps and youth retreats; sponsorship
    of an annual holiday party for children of all ages; contributed to the Christmas Angel
    Tree project; provided educational resources, and funded renovations and furnishings
    for the St. Paul United Methodist Church Education program and nursery.  

    The Willing Workers of Oxon Hill, Inc. is an independent, nonprofit IRS Code Section
    501(c)3 organization.

    Contributions may be made payable to Willing Workers of Oxon Hill, Inc. and mailed to:
    Willing Workers of Oxon Hill
    P. O. Box  42
    Oxon Hill, MD 20745

2010-2011 Officers
President, Brenda J. Henderson
Vice President, Larry Johnson
Secretary, Barbara Melton
Financial Secretary, Dotson Burns, Jr.
Treasurer, James Melton
Immediate Past President, Brenda Henderson

Evelyn Burns
Dotson Burns, Jr.
Ronald Carter
Rothel Carter
Alex Faison
Elaine Faison
Sheila Faison-Liverpool
Shirley Harris
Bill Henderson
Janice Johnson
Cora Marshall
Andrea Robinson
David Robinson
Gwendolyn Terrell

In Memoriam
James Harris
Jacob B. Terrell, Jr.
Dotson Burns Jr., Financial Secretary
James Melton, Treasurer
The Willing Workers of Oxon Hill, Incorporated
Brenda Henderson, President
Larry Johnson, Vice President